The Cinch Review http://www.cinchreview.com Music, metaphysics, and more Sat, 20 Aug 2016 23:44:59 +0000 en-US hourly 1 38968669 The Disease of Conceit http://www.cinchreview.com/the-disease-of-conceit/16075/ Thu, 18 Aug 2016 21:42:33 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=16075 Bob Dylan might be on to something. Maybe, as he says in the song, conceit is a disease. There’s no reason to be conceited: animals aren’t conceited. There’s no reason for us to come to think that we’re “too good to die.” It seems to be something we catch: a contagion, and once contracted it’s […]

The post The Disease of Conceit appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
16075
One More from Leonard Cohen http://www.cinchreview.com/one-more-from-leonard-cohen/16039/ Fri, 12 Aug 2016 21:29:49 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=16039 Leonard Cohen has the gift (which has only sharpened as the decades have passed) of being able to make a listener truly laugh, while really weeping, and in the end leave that listener thankful to be here at all, in a way beyond any ordinary expression. And it's that "leaving you thankful" part that is likely the most hard-won trick.

The post One More from Leonard Cohen appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
16039
The Same Lessons, Unlearned http://www.cinchreview.com/the-same-lessons-unlearned/16010/ Fri, 15 Jul 2016 16:26:53 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=16010 What level of atrocity is required to change the calculus?

The post The Same Lessons, Unlearned appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
16010
Bob Dylan – Fallen Angels (and Rising Prayers) http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-fallen-angels/15979/ Tue, 21 Jun 2016 01:12:23 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15979 There's so much one could say about this album, precisely because it was designed to have endless depth. That depth is in the songs, the singing, the playing, as well as the gorgeousness of the recording. In all of these aspects the album brims with a love that seems to overflow out of the speakers; these songs of great love are performed with great love.

The post Bob Dylan – Fallen Angels (and Rising Prayers) appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15979
Unknowing the Enemy http://www.cinchreview.com/unknowing-the-enemy/15950/ Sun, 12 Jun 2016 23:29:37 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15950 Seven months ago, in the Paris jihad attacks, 130 people were killed. Then there were 14 killed in the jihad attack in San Bernardino in December. In the Brussels jihad attacks, three months ago, 32 were killed. About 12 hours after at least 50 people were massacred this morning in Orlando by a man who […]

The post Unknowing the Enemy appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15950
Listen to Bob Dylan’s Fallen Angels (stream) http://www.cinchreview.com/listen-bob-dylans-fallen-angels-free-stream/15907/ Thu, 12 May 2016 19:37:34 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15907 Bob Dylan's latest, Fallen Angels, is to be officially released on May 20th (four days ahead of Mr. Dylan's 75th birthday). But you can listen to whole thing now via a streaming broadcast from NPR, embedded below.

The post Listen to Bob Dylan’s Fallen Angels (stream) appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15907
The Dog in the Mirror http://www.cinchreview.com/the-dog-in-the-mirror/15894/ Thu, 12 May 2016 01:44:42 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15894 Do dogs lack "self-awareness" because they don't look at themselves in mirrors - as compared to chimpanzees and people?

The post The Dog in the Mirror appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15894
Happy Passover http://www.cinchreview.com/happy-passover-2/15875/ Sat, 23 Apr 2016 01:21:15 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15875 The Bible tells stories, that’s all; except that these stories cause tidal waves and earthquakes: the mountains leap, the mighty fall. (You just need to have the patience to see it unfold.) There is no story more often remembered and retold than that of the Passover, and this on one level seems to be the […]

The post Happy Passover appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15875
Karma Comes Up Short for Robert F. Kennedy School http://www.cinchreview.com/karma-comes-short-robert-f-kennedy-school/15854/ Wed, 13 Apr 2016 19:09:35 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15854 A few years back I wrote in this space about a public school in New York City that was utilizing the Hindu concept of karma to teach good behavior to its students, as evidenced by prominent signs both outside and inside the school referring to karma and relating it to specific behaviors. That was the […]

The post Karma Comes Up Short for Robert F. Kennedy School appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
15854
Bob Dylan, “Melancholy Mood” http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-melancholy-mood/15823/ http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-melancholy-mood/15823/#comments Thu, 07 Apr 2016 16:41:49 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15823 It is (in the sense of those things these days) Bob Dylan’s hot new single: “Melancholy Mood.” The song is best known from its recording by Harry James and his Orchestra, with brand new boy singer Frank Sinatra, in 1939. It was the B-side of “From the Bottom of My Heart.” Neither side charted, though […]

The post Bob Dylan, “Melancholy Mood” appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-melancholy-mood/15823/feed/ 2 15823