The Cinch Review http://www.cinchreview.com Music, metaphysics, and more Thu, 21 Jul 2016 17:40:26 +0000 en-US hourly 1 The Same Lessons, Unlearned http://www.cinchreview.com/the-same-lessons-unlearned/16010/ Fri, 15 Jul 2016 16:26:53 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=16010 What level of atrocity is required to change the calculus?

The post The Same Lessons, Unlearned appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Bob Dylan – Fallen Angels (and Rising Prayers) http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-fallen-angels/15979/ Tue, 21 Jun 2016 01:12:23 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15979 There's so much one could say about this album, precisely because it was designed to have endless depth. That depth is in the songs, the singing, the playing, as well as the gorgeousness of the recording. In all of these aspects the album brims with a love that seems to overflow out of the speakers; these songs of great love are performed with great love.

The post Bob Dylan – Fallen Angels (and Rising Prayers) appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Unknowing the Enemy http://www.cinchreview.com/unknowing-the-enemy/15950/ Sun, 12 Jun 2016 23:29:37 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15950 Seven months ago, in the Paris jihad attacks, 130 people were killed. Then there were 14 killed in the jihad attack in San Bernardino in December. In the Brussels jihad attacks, three months ago, 32 were killed. About 12 hours after at least 50 people were massacred this morning in Orlando by a man who […]

The post Unknowing the Enemy appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Listen to Bob Dylan’s Fallen Angels (stream) http://www.cinchreview.com/listen-bob-dylans-fallen-angels-free-stream/15907/ Thu, 12 May 2016 19:37:34 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15907 Bob Dylan's latest, Fallen Angels, is to be officially released on May 20th (four days ahead of Mr. Dylan's 75th birthday). But you can listen to whole thing now via a streaming broadcast from NPR, embedded below.

The post Listen to Bob Dylan’s Fallen Angels (stream) appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
The Dog in the Mirror http://www.cinchreview.com/the-dog-in-the-mirror/15894/ Thu, 12 May 2016 01:44:42 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15894 Do dogs lack "self-awareness" because they don't look at themselves in mirrors - as compared to chimpanzees and people?

The post The Dog in the Mirror appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Happy Passover http://www.cinchreview.com/happy-passover-2/15875/ Sat, 23 Apr 2016 01:21:15 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15875 The Bible tells stories, that’s all; except that these stories cause tidal waves and earthquakes: the mountains leap, the mighty fall. (You just need to have the patience to see it unfold.) There is no story more often remembered and retold than that of the Passover, and this on one level seems to be the […]

The post Happy Passover appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Karma Comes Up Short for Robert F. Kennedy School http://www.cinchreview.com/karma-comes-short-robert-f-kennedy-school/15854/ Wed, 13 Apr 2016 19:09:35 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15854 A few years back I wrote in this space about a public school in New York City that was utilizing the Hindu concept of karma to teach good behavior to its students, as evidenced by prominent signs both outside and inside the school referring to karma and relating it to specific behaviors. That was the […]

The post Karma Comes Up Short for Robert F. Kennedy School appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Bob Dylan, “Melancholy Mood” http://www.cinchreview.com/bob-dylan-melancholy-mood/15823/ Thu, 07 Apr 2016 16:41:49 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15823 It is (in the sense of those things these days) Bob Dylan’s hot new single: “Melancholy Mood.” The song is best known from its recording by Harry James and his Orchestra, with brand new boy singer Frank Sinatra, in 1939. It was the B-side of “From the Bottom of My Heart.” Neither side charted, though […]

The post Bob Dylan, “Melancholy Mood” appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
One Day in America http://www.cinchreview.com/one-day-in-america/15793/ Sat, 13 Feb 2016 02:24:56 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15793 It’s all in how you look at it, isn’t it? “Oh, a few people got stabbed in Ohio. Big deal.” Or this: In Columbus, Ohio, yesterday (Thursday) evening, a man entered a restaurant named Nazareth, armed with a machete. The restaurant serves Middle Eastern food. It is owned by a gregarious man named Hany Baransi. […]

The post One Day in America appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>
Three Score and Ten http://www.cinchreview.com/three-score-and-ten/15757/ Sat, 16 Jan 2016 23:24:19 +0000 http://www.cinchreview.com/?p=15757 It was a passing thing, the merest of blips in the constantly gushing torrent of news, if even by chance one happened to have noticed it at all. It was simply this: Two widely reported celebrity deaths happened in quick succession, and both persons died at the age of 69. The first was the pop-music […]

The post Three Score and Ten appeared first on The Cinch Review.

]]>