Latest: Strange Days, Weird Monsters, and Prayers


Reviews

“When Death Comes Creepin’ (Whatcha Gonna Do?)” – Bob Dylan and a Few Good Questions

There are at last three recordings in existence: that Witmark demo, which was chronologically the last of the three, and two earlier ones that appeared on the limited edition Copyright Extension Collection released last year. It’s the second of those two that I think is (by far) the best, a fine recording of a terrific song.

Posted on August 6th, 2014

Hendrick’s Gin

While utilizing juniper—the trademark botanical of all gins—Hendrick’s is marked most by the infusion of rose petal (Bulgarian Rosa Damascena) and cucumber. It is the flavor of this latter cylindrical gourd which is most obvious on first tasting. Cucumber is the unexpected note which defines the melody that Hendrick’s plays upon one’s tongue.

Posted on June 23rd, 2014
Dylanosophy

“When Death Comes Creepin’ (Whatcha Gonna Do?)” – Bob Dylan and a Few Good Questions

There are at last three recordings in existence: that Witmark demo, which was chronologically the last of the three, and two earlier ones that appeared on the limited edition Copyright Extension Collection released last year. It’s the second of those two that I think is (by far) the best, a fine recording of a terrific song.

Posted on August 6th, 2014

“Forever Young” at the 2014 All Star Game

The interesting thing about this to Dylan fans might be the evidence that “Forever Young” is one of those Bob Dylan songs that has insinuated itself into the national (and global?) consciousness to the extent that it can be referenced on such an occasion. Perhaps then it is one of those Dylan songs that will outlive even the memory of his name. That might seem an odd thought, but we don’t mind odd thinking around here.

Posted on July 17th, 2014
Commentary

Strange Days, Weird Monsters, and Prayers

Look at today’s headlines. Here in the twenty-first century, we turn on our various electronic devices and see photos and read stories of human beings having their heads chopped off, mounted on spikes, and displayed to inspire terror and disgust beyond bearing. And it is not as some strange vestige …

Posted on August 15th, 2014

Music, Mali, Melody and Wales

An old saying goes that God made man in his own image, and to some of us it has also always seemed that music is closer than anything else we can identify to the language of God; if these things are so than it kind of makes sense that it is in music that we can best find our commonality as human beings.

Posted on August 6th, 2014

Articles of Faith (and How to Commit Genocide and Get Away with It)

Article 18 of the United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights is simple enough and says the following:
Everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others and in public or private, to manifest his religion or belief in teaching, practice, worship and observance.

Posted on August 1st, 2014
Dogs

A Man and His Dog

If you live in New York City, the odds are that you’re going to see famous people now and then. Even if you don’t go to their high society parties and clubs (and I for one toss every invitation in the trash on principle), you’re just fairly likely to run into them as they walk upon the sidewalk, something which even the famous must do if ever-so-briefly. Celebrities are no doubt bothered a lot less in Manhattan than …

Posted on June 2nd, 2014

Like Cats and Dogs

Two viral videos from the past couple of days provoke some commentary.

Posted on May 6th, 2014
Shorts

Now Mobile Friendly!

At enormous expense and after unrestrained effort, working our web development team for many weeks of 14 hour shifts, THE CINCH REVIEW is now being issued in a format more easily readable on your smartphones, tablets, skateboards and other mobile devices.

Posted on August 6th, 2014

O Sacred Head, Now Wounded

Sincere wishes for nearness-to-God to all those who have been celebrating holy days this week, both Passover and Holy Week. Unusually, both Christians of the western churches and the eastern Orthodox ones are celebrating Easter simultaneously this year, and aligned with the Jewish Passover.

Posted on April 17th, 2014
  • Subscribe Via Email


  • ADVERTISEMENTS









  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

    Join other followers